Another thing I love about doing this here blog is it gives me an outlet for my photography hobby.  And a reason to practice.  I knew pretty early on in my photography hobby that I had little desire to become a professional photographer.  I have done a few photo shoots for friends.  And that was fun, but I don’t know if I would enjoy doing it all the time for a living.  It’s a lot of pressure.  And well, I kind of crumble a little under pressure.

I don’t know what it was about shooting this Strawberry Jam, but I had so much fun.  It might have a little something to do with being in a new kitchen that has two skylights in addition to several large windows including a bay window over the kitchen sink…be still my heart!  So this kitchen stays well-lit all day long.  I LOVE it!

Sugarless Strawberry Jam

The bay window provides the perfect setting (and light) for a little food photo shoot.

Okay, back to the food and the recipes!  This jam was super easy.  I have never made jam before so I have no idea what the normal process is, but this took no time at all.  I quartered this recipe for freezer jam and used the juice I had on hand.

Ingredients:

12 oz of Strawberries (I used frozen)

100% juice (she used apple-I used orange peach mango) – see instructions below for the amount

1 Tbsp fruit pectin

Directions:

1.  Mash strawberries in large bowl (potato masher works great).

2.  Using a glass measuring cup, pour juice half way between 1/3 cup and 1/2 cup.  (1 3/4 doesn’t divide by 4 in a neat fashion)

3.  In small sauce pan, mix juice and pectin and bring to a hard boil.  Boil for one minute.

4.  Pour over strawberries and stir hard for one minute.

5.  Ladle into a jar or plastic container and place in refrigerator overnight to cool slowly and set.

6.  Good in refrigerator for up to 3 weeks.  …if it lasts that long!  :)

Note: If you would like to make a larger batch and store in the freezer, refer to the original recipe for instructions.

Note note:  This jam is about as sweet as a strawberry, as is.  I like it.  The girls like it.  If you think you may want it a little sweeter, you could add a Tbsp of honey or sweetener of your choice.

Sugarless Strawberry Jam

This jam was great on toast but I thought it deserved a more exciting companion so I made these almond flour biscuits I have been wanting to try.

Sugarless Strawberry Jam and Almond Flour biscuits

I was so happy with these biscuits!  They had great buttery flavor and a nice texture.  And what I love most about them is they are made with yummy nutrient packed almond flour instead of your regular ol’ refined white flour.  They are very filling too.

Sugarless Strawberry Jam and Almond Flour biscuits

Even if you do not have to eat gluten free, you really should give almond flour a try.  Elana’s Pantry is a great blog for almond flour recipes.

Sugarless Strawberry Jam and Almond Flour biscuits

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups blanched almond flour, plus about 1 cup for dusting the dough

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 cup dairy free buttery spread (or butter)

2 eggs

1 tablespoon agave nectar

Directions:

1. In a medium bowl, combine almond flour, salt and baking soda

2. In a large bowl, blend together buttery spread, eggs and agave

3. Stir the dry ingredients into the wet until a nice dough forms

4. Roll out dough between 2 pieces of parchment paper to 1 ½ inches thick

5. Dust dough with extra almond flour (I used rice flour for dusting) if it is sticky and/or misbehaving

6. Cut the dough into biscuits using a mason jar with a 3-inch wide mouth

7. Using a spatula, transfer biscuits to a parchment lined baking sheet

8. Bake at 350° for 15 minutes, until biscuits are browned on the bottom edges

9. Serve with gravy, jelly or whatever else your heart desires

Makes about 10 biscuits

Shared on Allergy Free Wednesdays and Simply Indulgent Tuesday.

