Had to take my Mama to the airport this morning.  :(  Her week here with us went waaaaayyyy too fast.  Always does.  Thanks for all of your help here, Mother!  Looking forward to seeing you and Pops next month!!

So needless to say, I have a back-up in the recipe queue.  Hopefully I can pop these babies out over the next week.  Get those taste buds ready!

Anywho, I have been wanting to jazz up my salad repertoire lately.  And well, really I wanted to create a salad for the sole purpose of trying out this Creamy Avocado Dressing recipe.  I used the Cilantro Lime Kabobs as inspiration and made this delicious salad:

Salad Mexicana with Creamy Avocado Dressing

Like I have said before I love the flavors of lime, cilantro, and cumin combined.  And I thought those flavors would be accented very well with a Creamy Avocado Dressing.  I had some left over red cabbage after making this yummy “purple salad” that my girls LOVED! Especially the second night when all the flavors and juices had plenty of time to mingle and the dressing was PINK.  Purple salad with pink dressing?  Sold!  Easy as that!  They even asked for seconds!  I will have to make it again and post about it soon.  Anyways, so I decided to use the slaw from this Flat Iron Taco recipe in this salad.  And I seasoned the chicken with cumin and chipotle seasoning.

It was like a Mexican Fiesta in my mouth.  Jeff’s words upon first bite, “Mmmm!  This is really good.”  Husband approved!  Phew!!

Salad Mexicana

Ingredients: 

1 lb chicken tenders

Cumin

Onion powder

Garlic powder

Chipotle seasoning

Salt

1 cup red cabbage, sliced

Juice from 1 lime

1 or 2 cloves garlic

Green leaf lettuce

1/2 cup black beans (canned, drained and rinsed or if you are really fancy cooked black beans…I am not that fancy)

1/2 pint cherry tomatoes (I cut in half)

Red onion

Cilantro

Other additions that would be yummy: avocado, corn, tortilla strips etc.

Salad Mexicana with Creamy Avocado Dressing

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven 350*.  In small mixing bowl combine lime juice, minced garlic, salt and cabbage.  Mix well and set in refrigerator. Allow at least 15 minutes or prepare earlier in the day and really let the flavors come together.

2.  In a 7×11 casserole dish, lay out the chicken tenders.  Season both sides with cumin, onion powder, garlic powder, chipotle seasoning, and salt.  All to taste.  I sprinkled generously.  Place in oven and bake for 20 minutes or until cooked through.

3.  Meanwhile chop up those salad goodies.  Top with cabbage and chicken.  Garnish with cilantro.  Drizzle on the Creamy Avocado Dressing, which you prepared before hand…perhaps at naptime.  :)

Creamy Avocado Dressing 

From Get Nourished

Ingredients:

1 clove garlic

2 tsp honey or agave

1 Tbsp cilantro, chopped

1 ripe avocado

3/4 cup unsweetened almond milk

juice from 1 lime

2 Tbsp raw apple cider vinegar

1/4 tsp sea salt

Directions:
In a food processor, blend garlic, honey and cilantro.  Add avocado and puree.  Add in almond milk, lime juice and vinegar and pulse until smooth.  Add in salt and mix until creamy.

This dressing was so good, I could drink it.  Actually I may or may not have drank it a little…

Creamy Avocado Dressing

Instead of buying mason jars (although they  are rather inexpensive) , I have been saving and reusing jars such as this salsa jar that I put the dressing in.  I give it a good wash in the dishwasher and then swish vinegar and water in it as well to get any last bit of salsa smell out.  I must say, there is something rather gratifying about filling up jars with homemade stuff!

And I have no idea how long this will last in the fridge.  It did not last more than 24 hours in my house before the majority of it went into my belly!  Thank you J’lene @ Get Nourished for this delicious recipe!  Take a little peek at her blog.  Not only will you find healthy food for you body but also food for your soul.  I love that!

Psst, Lea if you liked the kabobs so much, I am pretty sure you will love this salad!!

