First, I have to confess.  Cooking with my little darlings is not exactly my favorite thing in the world.  I think I will enjoy it one day, but right now especially considering the amount of cooking that I do all whilst trying to keep the house in order and three little kids from raising havoc, I like to just get in there and get it done with as little mess (pssh!) as possible.

That’s my spunky Charlotte!

But I also know that involving your kids in the kitchen could help them eat more healthy.  They are more likely to try something they helped prepare.  They can learn about the ingredients and try them individually so it is not so scary later when they see it on their plate.  And they just might have an appreciation for the time and love that went into making it.  Wouldn’t that be great?!

Because I know this, I think it will be fun to write a Kids in the Kitchen post here and there with pictures and ideas of fun ways to get your kids involved in the kitchen.  Perhaps this will motivate me to get my kids in the kitchen more often.

And you get a little sneak peak inside my extremely outdated, I mean, retro kitchen that I love.

So far I have only done baking and sweets with them, but I hope to get them more involved with dinner and lunch.  Dinner would be a major stretch because dinner is CRAZY!  By the time I sit down to eat, my hair is sticking every which way, I’m wild-eyed, and a little bit off my rocker.  It isn’t pretty.  But with a little planning I might be able to make it work.

Anyways, these frozen banana treats are super kid friendly.  The prep is easy, and what kid doesn’t like to dip their fingers in sweet yumminess?

We did some frozen banana pops.  I got this idea from Chocolate Covered Katie.

First you take half of a peeled banana, stick it with a stick of some sort (a popsicle stick would probably be ideal, but I just used half of a kabob skewer), and roll it in yogurt (we used plain coconut milk yogurt):

Then you roll it in whatever you want.  We rolled ours in chocolate granola:

Place on parchment paper-lined cookie sheet and freeze:

The girls enjoyed eating up the remaining yogurt and granola:

Next we made peanut butter banana bites.  Melt about 2/3 cup of peanut butter with a 1/4 cup coconut oil and add 1 Tbsp sweetener (optional).

Then slice two bananas into one inch pieces and use a fork to dip them in the peanut butter mixture.

Remember to take a break to lick the fork or the bowl or your fingers from time to time:

And place the peanut butter covered bananas on the parchment lined cookie sheet:

Freeze for at least an hour.  And voila!  A tasty frozen treat that is easy and fun to make with your kiddos.

And yes, that is how Tabitha looks every day…except she usually has more accessories in her hair.  :)

What are your favorite kid-friendly recipes?

I would love to hear your ideas!

Shared on Allergy Friendly Wednesday, Kids in the Kitchen, Wellness Weekend

