Honeydew Lime-Mint Cooler

When we moved in to our house, mint was taking over the ‘L’ shaped planter in the front.  We pulled most of it up and transplanted some into a couple of pots.  So I found myself searching for recipes with fresh mint.  I found this lovely simple salad (I think I left the cilantro out, but I am sure that would be yummy too) and made it for our house warming party.  I wasn’t completely sure about the honeydew mint combo, but it was highly rated.  And rightly so!  Such a yummy combination of fresh flavors.

So I made it into a tasty and refreshing beverage.  Great for a hot summer day!  And check out the many health benefits of mint:  A digestive aid; soothes headaches, nausea, coughs, itchy skin, and more; beneficial to asthma suffers; facial cleanser/purifier; plus more!

Tabitha actually asked me to make this again today…unfortunately I did not have all the ingredients.

Honeydew Lime-Mint Cooler

Ingredients:

2 limes

1/2 cup fresh mint leaves

1 1/2 to 2 cups of honeydew, cut into chunks

Directions:

1.  Combine juice of 2 limes with the mint leaves in a glass or shallow bowl.  Using a muddler or the back of a spoon, press on the leaves and twist to break them down and release the oils (?)  juice (?).  Whatever, I am obviously not well versed in muddling.  Place lime-mint mixture in the refrigerator for a few hours or over night to let the flavors mingle.

2.  Using a metal fine mesh strainer, strain the lime juice so there are no bits of mint in the juice.

3.  Pour into a blender and add honeydew.  Blend until smooth.

Note:  The honeydew I used was perfect.  Sweet, soft, and juicy.  I liked it just fine without any sweetener.  It was limeade-esk.  But you could certainly add a little liquid sweetener.  Or a little ice for a more smoothie-like drink.

Shared on Allergy Free Wednesdays, Make Your Own Monday, Melt in Your Mouth Monday, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Hearth and Soul, Kids in the Kitchen, Tasty Tuesday

