I found this recipe at JoyfulAbode.  When I saw these ingredients, I wasn’t so sure.  But the fact that her toddler gobbled them up and that the recipe is so simple, I figured it was worth a shot.  Plus, they are nutrient packed and free of sugar other than that which naturally occurs in the sweet potatoes.  So if these “cookies” are a hit, they are something I wouldn’t even mind packing for part of their lunches.

Here’s the Recipe…

1 cup mashed sweet potato or yam (I used yam)

3-4 TBSP of Almond Butter

2 eggs

Generous sprinkle of cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit.  Combine all ingredients until a smooth thick batter.  Drop on a parchment-paper-lined cookie sheet.  Bake 10-12 minutes, then flip.  Bake an additional 5 minutes.  Cool on a cooling rack.

Tabitha could eat a peanut butter sandwich every day.  I have been trying to come up with new packable lunch ideas for her with little success.  When I ask her for her suggestions, she says “salad.”  Which is great.  I love that she loves her veggies.  I do count myself lucky on that account.  And if she would actually eat a big salad with a variety of healthy toppings and a healthy dressing (not ranch), then that might work.  But I know she needs more.  So I was really hoping these would be a success.

And they were!  …Juuuust not for Tabitha.  I was pleasantly surprised.  AND Charlotte LOVES them.  While Tabitha ate one with peanut butter yesterday, she complained when I tried to pack them for her lunch this morning.  And by complained I mean threw a small tantrum and stopped eating her breakfast so she could pout.  Oh well.  I will make these again.  And I will try some different variations of this “cookie.”  Maybe one day I will land on something that Tabitha will love.

Update:  I made these again but I added 1 ripe banana and an extra egg, and they passed the Tabitha test!

PS.  I love the picture above with the little i ❤ u in the corner of the plate.  It is because I love my family that I want to feed the really well.  They may not always be happy with some of the changes I am making but I hope and pray (and I really do pray about this) that they will embrace and love all things healthy.  We’re getting there.

