Sounds yummy doesn’t it?  Well, it just might be my new favorite thing!  The first time I heard about it was at a Farmer’s Market where I tried this delicious almond-based spread that was gluten-free and vegan.  She said it was made with nutritional yeast.  Meant nothing to me at the time, but as I have read through many vegan food blogs, I started to see nutritional yeast more and more.  I found out it has a wonderful cheesy flavor, and many vegans use it for that purpose alone.  But in addition to the cheesy flavor, it is also nutritious!  Never would have guessed, huh?  What with a name like nutritional yeast.

The other day I had some basil I needed to use up and I had this little recipe pinned in my pinterest.  All I needed was some nutritional yeast.  This was my chance!  Now I have made pesto without parmesan, and it works.  But if I could add a little cheese flavor without the dairy, why wouldn’t I? So I did.  And it was fantastic!!

Basil Pesto with Nutritional Yeast

2 cups basil leaves

3 garlic cloves

1/3 cup walnuts

1/4 cup olive oil

2 tbsp nutritional yeast (or you can use freshly shredded parmesan)

sea salt to taste

Blend the basil, garlic and walnuts until chopped finely.  Add in the olive oil, salt and nutritional yeast.  

And because Tabitha isn’t crazy about pesto, I made her a “cheese” sauce, which was basically pesto minus the basil.  She liked it well enough.  These days she is a tough sell, but she ate it all without complaint.  So I will call that a success.

I also added 1 tbsp of nutritional yeast to my scrambled eggs.  I whisked it in with 3 eggs then scrambled.  So yummy!

I love all of these new food discoveries!

