I love any and all things that contain or pertain to pumpkin.  Okay that may be a slight exaggeration.  But when I stumbled upon a chili recipe with pumpkin, I absolutely had to try it.

Altered from this recipe

Ingredients

2 pounds ground beef

1 large onion, diced

2 or 3 carrots , peeled and chopped

2 (15 ounce) cans black beans, drained

4 cups tomato juice

1 (28 ounce) can peeled and diced tomatoes with juice

1 (15 ounce) can pumpkin puree

1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon nutmeg

3 tablespoons chili powder

1/4 cup white sugar or 1/8 cup agave necter

Directions

1. In a large pot over medium heat, cook beef until brown; drain.

2. Stir in onion and carrot and cook 5 minutes.

3. Stir in beans, tomato juice, diced tomatoes and pumpkin puree.

4. Season with pumpkin pie spice, chili powder and sugar. Simmer 1 hour.

The pumpkin is subtle enough for those who don’t love pumpkin.  I love the added spice with a touch of sweetness.  AND my three food critics love this chili!  It makes plenty for leftovers too.

I used half of a 29 oz can of pumpkin so stay tuned for two more pumpkin recipes…

