Last night I made Kale Chips and Cole Slaw to go along side our left-over pork tenderloin.  This is the second time I have made Kale Chips.  The first time Charlotte and I ate most of them up and Tabitha had a few when she got home from school.  I was pleased that both girls liked them.  So last night, I planned on putting them on our plates.  But it never happened.

THIS is what happened instead…

That cookie sheet was covered with yummy kale.  Sneaky “Mr. Fox” (as she called herself) kept swiping more and more chips.  Fine by me!!  Few things delight this mommy’s heart more that to see her kids eat up and enjoy healthy foods such as this superfood.

With her mouth full of Kale:

Kale Chips are easy!

Here is what you need:

1 bunch of Kale (rinsed and thoroughly dried)

Olive oil

Coarse sea salt

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 350*.  Remove stems and tear in to bite-size pieces.

2.  Toss in a bag with about 2 tbsp of olive oil and spread on cookie sheet.  Or spread on a cookie sheet and spray with olive oil.  Sprinkle with sea salt.

3.  Bake for 10-15 minutes watching carefully.  When edges begin to brown, they are ready.

And I have finally perfected my Cole-Slaw recipe.  I love when I can give my family raw veggies so they can get the full benefits the vegetable has to offer.  Jeff loves this recipe and the girls usually eat it too.  🙂

Ingredients:

1/2 head of green cabbage, chopped

2 carrots, shredded (I just use a vegetable peeler to shave off 2 inch strips)

1/2 cup mayonaise

3 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

2 tbsp of honey

1 teaspoon onion powder (or add finely chopped red onion)

salt and pepper to taste

1.  Combine mayo, olive oil, vinegar, honey, onion powder, and salt and pepper in small bowl.   Whisk together and pour over cabbage and carrot.  Best if allowed to sit in refrigerator for about 15 minutes.

Olive oil loses some of it’s healthful properties when used in high heat.  So this recipe allows us to get all of those yummy omega 3s from the olive oil uncompromised.  Apple cider vinegar (especially raw, organic, unfiltered, with the ‘mother’ in it – this tastes better too.  I use Bragg’s.) also has a number of health benefits.

I will get back to my pumpkin recipes soon…

