This is truly genius!!  I wouldn’t feel bad AT ALL sending my girls to school with chocolate pudding in their lunches.  Other moms might not appreciate their kids coming home and saying, “Tabitha gets to have chocolate pudding in her lunch!”  But what she is actually getting is a nice serving of avocado and banana.  Did I just lose you?  Well, take a look at these faces…

Here is the recipe adapted slightly from this one:

1 avocado, ripe

1 banana, the riper the better

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 vanilla extract

2 to 3 tbsp cocoa powder

2 to 4 tbsp milk (I used unsweetened almond milk)

Agave or honey, optional and to taste

  1. In a food processor or blender, combine the avocado and banana and process until smooth.
  2. Add the cocoa powder, vanilla, cinnamon, and agave.  Process again until smooth.  Add milk as needed to desired consistency.
  3. Store in a sealed container and eat within 2-3 days.

My banana had not a brown spot on it so it did not sweeten the pudding as much as a riper banana would.  That is why I added a little agave, about 1 1/2 tsp.  I used 3 tbsp of cocoa, but I think I will reduce it to 2 next time since it was slightly bitter.  The consistency and color would give you no indication of the avocado or banana.  And by the way, you could not taste the avocado.

The best part…THE GIRLS ATE IT ALL UP!!

