I was not a fan of seafood for most of my life.  And I have been an avid nut-hater as well.  But ever since cutting out gluten and dairy, I have become open to new things…especially if I know how they are good for me.  Please don’t put nuts in my dessert, but on my fish?  YES PLEASE!!!

Holy cashews!!  This was super yummy and the girls loved it too!

Funny Tidbit:  When I put this very plate in front of Tabitha, she said, “Mommy is turning into like a chef.”  She also says that she wants to open a healthy restaurant called “Dessert Candy.”  Haha!  I love sharing this passion with my children.

Cashew Crusted Sea Bass with Mango Cream Sauce

Adapted from this recipe.

Ingredients

1 mango – peeled, seeded, and diced

1 cup canned full fat coconut milk

2 tsp lemon juice

1 cup roasted salted cashews

1/2 cup crushed gluten free rice cereal (or bread crumbs)

2 tsp olive oil

1 tsp of black pepper

1/2 tsp curry powder

pinch of cayenne pepper (optional)

2 lbs fresh sea bass

salt and pepper to taste

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 tbsp olive oil

Directions

  1. In a food processor (I used my Magic Bullet), combine cashews, rice cereal, 2 teaspoon olive oil, black pepper, cayenne pepper and curry powder. Process until smooth. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. Season fish with salt and black pepper. Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil and minced garlic in a large skillet over medium heat. Sear the sea bass on both sides, and remove from heat.
  3. Transfer fish to preheated oven, and roast until cooked through.  (about 20-25 minutes)
  4. Meanwhile, in a small saucepan over medium heat, combine mango, coconut milk, and lemon juice. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer until thickened.  Blend or leave as is.  I blended.  The mango sauce is so yummy I could seriously drink it all up.
  5. Cover the sea bass with cashew crust, and return to the oven until crust browns (or broil for a few minutes watching closely). Top with the mango cream sauce.

This is so delicious!  If I had a restaurant (gluten and dairy free of course), this would be on the menu for sure.  You must try!!  Enjoy!

Note:  I had some cashew crust mix leftover.  Turns out it is great on chicken too!!

