I’ve had a real hankerin’ for carrot cake lately.  What with Easter and bunnies and CARROTS and all.  I recently saw this Carrot Cake Milkshake
recipe on one of my new favorite food blogs, Chocolate Covered Katie.  She is a vegan dessert maker so all of her recipes are dairy-free.  Yay!  This crafty little milkshake is an easy and healthy way to enjoy the yummy flavors of carrot cake!  And a perfect Easter morning treat!!

Sugar free, dairy free, gluten free

I made this for the girls and myself.  For mine I followed the recipe exactly (I used canned full fat coconut milk) and I loved it.  For the girls I drizzled in a little agave nectar (about 1 teaspoon) and it was perfect!!  So yummy!

  • Coconut milk health benenfits include (but are not limited to):  supports healthy immune function, helps lower high blood pressure, helps relax muscles and nerves.  Great source of manganese, magnesium, selenium, phosphorus, and provides half your daily dose of iron.

The Chocolate Chocolate Muffins (pictured) went great along side the Carrot Cake Milkshake.  These muffins are so easy to make.  Not only are they dairy and gluten free, but completely flour-less as well!  So no need to go out and buy expensive gluten-free/grain-free flours.  These are also refined-sugar-free as long as your nut butter is too!

Adapted from this recipe:

Ingredients:

About a cup of nut butter (I used peanut)

3 eggs

About 1/4 cup of honey

1 very ripe banana

2 Tbsp melted non-dairy margarine or coconut oil

3 Tbsp cocoa powder

Dash of cinnamon

Splash of vanilla

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/3 cup chopped dark chocolate

Then when everything else is combined, about 1 teaspoon of apple cider vinegar

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Throw it all together in the stand mixer or mix with an electric hand-mixer.

Fill oiled muffin tins about 2/3 full with the batter and bake for 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

gluten-free, dairy-free, refined-sugar-free, grain-free, flour-less

Tabitha’s idea to put the little bunny hopper on top.  🙂  And these muffins were Charlotte’s requested breakfast food on her birthday!

I also tried my hand at making a carrot cake pudding!

Carrot Cake Pudding - FAIL!

Unfortunately, it looks better in the picture than it tasted.  Ah well, I’ll keep working on it because doesn’t carrot cake pudding sound delicious?

