Blueberry Pear Sauce on Banana Pancakes

First, I have to admit something.  I could have taken a better picture.  Buuuut…I was way too eager to devour these!  This was so delicious!!

I had an idea in my head.  I wanted some alternative to maple syrup on pancakes.  Sometimes I just add a little cinnamon and honey to the batter and we eat them plain.  And I think we have used honey on them before.  But I thought some kind of berry sauce would be great.  Kind of like what you could get at IHOP but not.  This would be without all the sugar.

Then, as if it were fate, I saw this.  And I thought now that would be perfect on pancakes!  Just what I had in mind.  I changed her recipe just slightly because I thought the pear would provide a smoother texture.

Blueberry Pear Sauce

1 ripe pear, diced (I left the skin on)

1 cup of blueberries (I used frozen-we always have frozen blueberries on hand)

3 Tbsp of 100% fruit juice (her recipe calls for apple juice, I used orange strawberry banana)

Dash of cinnamon

Directions

Place all ingredients in a small pot on the stove over medium heat. Bring to a boil and lower the heat, let simmer for 20 minutes. Turn off the heat and puree with an emersion blender or fork if you like it chunky.

Banana pancakes with blueberry pear sauce

Then I poured it on top of some banana pancakes along with some sliced banana.  It was the perfect combination.  I just might never have pancakes any other way!

This is so yummy I am sharing it on Diet, Dessert and Dogs’ Wellness WeekendFlipcookbook’s Sugar-Free Sunday and Allergy-Free Wednesdays.  Check out all the other wholesome refined-sugar free/allergy-friendly recipes over there.

