I love soup.  I had carrots.  I had apples.  I needed dinner.  May-Gray was upon us and it was an overcast and chilly-ish day.  So I made this soup:

Carrot Apple Soup

With this salad:

Kale and Orange Salad

Which was delicious with this salad dressing:

Orange Viniagrette

Carrot Apple Soup

Adapted slightly from this recipe.

Ingredients:

2 lbs. carrots, peeled and chopped

3 apples, peeled and chopped

1/2 yellow onion

1 can full-fat coconut milk

3 cups water

1/4 cup fresh squeezed orange juice

1 teaspoon salt

1 heaping teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon ginger

3 tablespoons coconut oil (or olive oil etc)

Cilantro (optional)

Directions:

1.  In a stock pot add oil, salt, and onions.  Sauté onions until translucent (about 5 minutes).

2.  Add chopped carrots and apple, and sauté for about 2 minutes.

3.  Add coconut milk, water, orange juice, cinnamon and nutmeg.  Bring to a boil.

4.  Reduce heat.  Cover pot and simmer for about 30 minutes.

5.  Remove lid and simmer an additional 30 minutes.

6.  Turn off heat and let sit for 10 minutes, then blend with immersion blender (or any blender of choice).

7. Garnish with cilantro.

Cilantro?  Yes, cilantro.  A friend brought me carrot soup when I was on bed rest with Tabitha.  It was garnished with sour cream and cilantro. I was pleasantly surprised by how well cilantro goes with the carrots and ginger.  You should try it!

Carrot Apple Soup and Kale Orange Salad with Orange Vinaigrette
Kale and Orange Salad:
Inspired by this recipe.
Note:  When I made it this night I used only kale.  It was a bit much for Jeff and me.  I kind of felt like I should be in a barn or rabbit hutch.  So the second time I made it, at the suggestion of a friend, I cut it in thin strips and combined it with spinach.  Perfect!  The girls even ate it!!
3 cups loosely packed spinach
1 cup kale, cut in thin strips
2 oranges, peeled and diced
golden raisins
slivered almonds
Directions:
Toss together in large bowl.  Top with Orange Vinaigrette (see below).
Kale Orange Salad with Orange Vinaigrette
Orange Viniagrette
Juice of 1 juicy orange (about 1/4 cup)
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon mayonaise (optional for creaminess)
1 tablespoon agave or honey
1/4 teaspoon ginger
dash of salt
Directions:
Combine all ingredients in a small bowl and whisk together.
I really love this vinaigrette.  Sweet and tangy.  So glad it is orange season!  I will be making this again and again!
Shared on Wellness Weekend.
