I have been kind of a milk shake fiend lately.  It is pretty easy to make a tasty milk shake that is also GOOD FOR YOU.  The possibilities and flavors are endless.

I bought some hazelnuts on a whim one day.  They were on sale and I remembered seeing hundreds of recipes with them that peaked my curiosity.  One recipe was this chocolate hazelnut milk.  We already know chocolate and hazelnut go well together so this sounded delicious.  Why not throw a little banana in there too?  After all, another current obsession of mine is frozen bananas.  I have been buying twice as many bananas lately so I can let half on them get super ripe.  Then I peel them and toss them in the freezer.  They provide a wonderful creamy frosty texture to milk shakes in addition to adding sweetness without the need for much or any sweetener.  Oh and I hear they make great “ice cream”  like this pb & chocolate chip banana ice cream that I am SO going to try.

Anyways back to the filberts.  Did you know hazelnuts are also called filberts?  I think I will call them filberts from here on out.

This was the first time trying my hand at making my own nut milk and I was very pleased with how easy it was.

Chocolate Filbert Milk Shake

Ingredients:

1 cup raw filberts

3 cups water

2 Tbsp agave, honey, or maple syrup (optional)

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 Tbsp cocoa powder

4 frozen bananas

Directions:

1. First you make the filbert milk (isn’t filbert such a fun word?).  You can either soak your filberts for 4 to 6 hours or for a more nutty flavor, you can toast them in the oven at 325* for 12 to 15 minutes watching closely.  You want them to darken slightly but take care not to let them burn.  Burnt nut…bleh!

2.  Place filberts and the rest of the ingredients, except the bananas, into a blender and blend well.  About one minute.

3.  Strain slowly through a fine mesh sieve, removing the nut pulp from time to time.  I strained the milk into a large 25oz jar.

4.  I did this one serving at a time, so I poured a quarter (I eye-balled it – somewhere between 3/4 cup and 1 cup probably) of the filbert milk into my magic bullet with one frozen banana, broken into chunks for easier blending, and blended until smooth.  I kept the rest in the refrigerator until next time.

SO easy!

I am literally always hungry these days due to nursing a hungry baby boy.  It is not pretty when I get to the point of starvation.  Picture wild-eyed crazy lady.  So this milk shake makes a wonderful mid-morning or afternoon snack.

Not only are filberts tasty, they jam packed with healthfulness.  They are great for lowering cholesteral and heart health.  They are rich in dietary fiber and phytochemicals that aid in the prevention of many diseases and cancers, vitamin E, B vitamins, a long list of minerals, and an exceptional source of folate. {source}

You will be left with some nut pulp.  Don’t know what to do with it?  Check out this site for some ideas.

So go get you some filberts and enjoy!!

Shared on Allergy Free Wednesday, Make Your Own Monday, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Wellness Weekend.

