Cake Batter Milkshake

Henry, who is coming up on 6 months, has totally been eyeing our food.  Not only that, but he frantically grabs for it with wild-bugged-eyes.  This boy wants to eat!  I decided to copy The Spunky Coconut in her choice for her daughter’s first food because I was completely intrigued by the creaminess of the Japanese sweet potato.  It required a trip to the Asian Grocer , but it was so worth it.  Henry loves it!

So you are probably wondering why I am blabbing on about Japanese sweet potatoes and not this Cake Batter Milkshake.  Well, you will soon find out.

I had never had a Japanese sweet potato before and when I tasted it, I was blown away.  I don’t know if it is because it is my birthday month and I have cake on my mind or what, but I thought it tasted like cake batter.  It is so sweet!

Well, the wheels started turning and I thought I could put this delicious little sweet potato in a milkshake…a Cake Batter Milkshake!  And that is exactly what I did.

Cake Batter Milkshake

Cake Batter Milkshake

Ingredients:

2/3 cup milk (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk)

1/2 cup pureed frozen Japanese sweet potato, slightly thawed

1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 tsp agave, honey, or maple syrup (optional – this sweet potato is really sweet)

1/4 tsp cream of tarter

pinch of salt

1 tsp of melted butter or earth balance soy-free buttery spread

Optional:  3 Tbsp of oats (grind first) or 1 Tbsp coconut flour

Directions:

Add all ingredients to a blender and blend until smooth.

Voila!  Cake Batter Milkshake!

Now you can enjoy the yummy flavor of cake batter in a healthy milkshake because Japanese sweet potatoes are loaded with goodness.  Japanese sweet potatoes are a great source of dietary fiber and protein.  They are loaded with Vitamin A in addition to vitamins C, E, and B6.  These sweet potatoes will also provide you with a helpful dose of potassium, calcium, sodium, phosphorus, manganese, copper, iron and magnesium.  {source}

This milkshake really is so yummy.  I will have to practice some major self-control to keep myself from using up all the pureed sweet potato that I made for Henry in my milkshakes.

Shared on Wellness Weekend, Kids in the Kitchen, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Whole Foods Wednesday, Thriving on Thursdays, Make Your Own Monday, Recipe of the Week, My Meatless Monday, Allergy Friendly Wednesday

