Or Chocolate Oatmeal Crunch Cereal

Or “Chocolate Milk Cereal Like a Cookie” – Tabitha’s suggestion

Chocolate Granola Crunch

Whatever you want to call this, it was a hit!  The other night I was craving some crunchy milk drenched cereal.  I didn’t have any so I decided to try making my own.  This is essentially chocolate granola.  It’s super easy.  You can eat it dry.  With milk or yogurt.  Or make it into a trail mix.  I think I will make a double batch next time so I can try it out in different ways.  I think it would be great with sliced almonds and dried cherries.

Chocolate Granola Crunch Cereal

Chocolate Oatmeal Crunch

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cup gluten free oats

1/3 cup ground chia or flax meal

2 Tbsp cocoa

1/4 cup of your favorite nut or seed butter (I used sunflower butter for the first time here and really love it)

3 to 4 Tbsp agave, maple syrup, or honey

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp salt

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 350*.  Combine dry ingredients in medium bowl and wet ingredients in a small bowl.  Pour wet into dry mixture and stir until combined.

2.  Spread out onto a parchment paper lined cookie sheet in a thin layer.  Stick in the freezer for 5 to 10 minutes.  (Or you can stick it in the freezer in the bowl before spreading if a cookie sheet does not fit in your freezer.

3.  Bake for 12-15 minutes.  Slide parchment paper off cookie sheet and allow to cool before serving.

Delicious with unsweetened vanilla almond milk.

This is really easy to throw together.  To save time in the morning – Do ahead: Mix all ingredients and store in refrigerator over night.

Shared on Make Your Own Monday, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Hearth and Soul, Allergy Friendly Wednesday, Whole Foods Wednesday, Gluten-Free Wednesday, Wellness Weekend